For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.

Whether you’re networking, interviewing for a job, or just having a conversation with a friend, it is essential to have an ‘elevator pitch’ to describe your dissertation work. Tomorrow, 7 September 2021, 12 PhD students from the Amsterdam Law School, Faculty Economics & Business, Faculty of Humanities and Faculty of Science will compete in the Grand Finale of the UvA ‘Three Minute Thesis’ pitch competition.

Developed by The University of Queensland, the Three Minute Thesis competition or 3MT, is an annual competition held at over 900 universities across more than 85 countries worldwide. The Law Hub was the initiator of the first ever UvA 3MT competition, supported by the Amsterdam University Fund and Innovation Exchange Amsterdam. For more information about the competition visit here.

Participants are challenged to present their PhD research in just three minutes to a non-specialist audience through a video recording. All finalist videos will be showcased during the Grand Finale. The Grand Jury, consisting of Jan Lintsen (UvA Executive Board), Henriëtte van Oosterzee (UvA Centraal), Jim Jansen (Chief Editor New Scientist) will announce one winner at the end of the event who will continue to compete internationally.  

This is tomorrow's (online) programme:

15h00: Opening & Welcome
15h15: Competition in 3 rounds PHD finalists, each followed by a panel discussion

Round 1 Raviar Karim (Faculty of Economics & Business), Grace Farmiloe (Faculty of Science), Sanne Frequin (Faculty of Humanities) & Malouke Kuiper (Amsterdam Law School).

Round 2 Eva Janssens (Faculty of Economics & Business), Yoni Schirris (Faculty of Science), Lola Digard (Faculty of Humanities) & Teresa Cabrita (Amsterdam Law School).

Round 3 Emma van Gerven (Faculty of Economics & Business), Susan Rigter (Faculty of Science), Rukayyah Reichling (Faculty of Humanities) & Juan Vazquez (Amsterdam Law School).

16h30: Break
17h00: Award Ceremony

Excited to see who wins the UvA 3MT competition? You can follow the finale via our livestream on Zoom or Instagram.